Roasted Broccoli : Clean Recipe

Last week I was very lucky to get to visit my Aunt and Uncle by marriage in Fayetteville, Arkansas for the week. I had been really stressed and sad lately and was in dire need of a change of pace and a reduction in responsibility. It’s hard work running a household!

One day we decided to have sweet potatoes and chicken for dinner and I thought it would be nice to roast some of my very favorite vegetable to share with them — broccoli! So we got some of that, and I turned the oven on to 400.

I got to chopping, and cut all that broccoli up into florets. My Aunt melted some coconut oil for me to drizzle on it instead of the prescribed olive oil and I did. Then I mixed it all up in a bowl with about two tablespoons of coarse cracked pepper, and a tablespoon of garlic powder (we used garlic salt because that was what I could find but I highly recommend garlic powder or even chopped garlic cloves, the salt was way too salty for me).

After everything was mixed up, I spread it out on a baking sheet covered in foil, making sure the broccoli was spaced evenly so as to get a good sear on it. Then, when the oven was done heating, I stuck the pan in the oven for ten minutes. Their oven runs a little hot, so after ten minutes, I pulled it out and flipped all the broccoli so it would cook evenly and put it back in for another ten minutes. I would go longer if you like more char on your veggies.

Finally, it was done to enjoy with our dinner. Everyone really enjoyed it. My aunt had commented that she had tried roasting brussels sprouts before and no one really liked them but it was nice to see my recipe get such a good reception (I hope they weren’t just being nice!).

OvenRoastedBroccoli

Roasted Broccoli
Serves 2-4 as a side dish.

Ingredients:

2 heads of broccoli, cut into florets
2 tablespoons cracked pepper
1 tablespoon garlic powder
2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted in the microwave

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix all spices together in a small bowl or cup.

Drizzle coconut oil all over broccoli florets and sprinkle with spice mix. Toss together and lay out on a lined sheet tray.

Roast broccoli for 20 minutes, tossing occasionally.

Serve!

2 thoughts on “Roasted Broccoli : Clean Recipe

Leave a Reply

